2017 Southern Masters – Entry is Closed

BGWLC are hosting the 2017 Southern Masters Weightlifting Competition on Saturday 4th November.

Weigh-in is from 8.00am – 9.00am, lifting starts at 10.00am

Entry is now closed – the competition is full.


Loaders needed – 29th July at BGWLC

Calling all boys and girls of all persuasions!

This month is Pride in London, and on the 29th of London we will have our first ever Pride Powerlifting Competition!

We’ve got the lifters, we’ve got the referees, the medals and the music, we just need some loaders. No experience neccessary, just enthusiasm and support. 

Want to sign up? email Ron Pyke or Dom Patmore.

For more information about the competition, visit the LGBT London Powerlifting page on Facebook.

IPF World Classic 2016


BGWLC had two lifters at 2016’s IPF World Championships: Ernie Parkes (83kg M4), and Anna Macnab (84kg+ Senior). Both performed brilliantly as part of the Great Britain team.

Ernie Parkes became the World Champion in his class, finishing with a 155kg squat, 90kg bench, 222.5kg deadlift and 467.5kg total. Well done Ernie!

Anna Macnab came 9th in her very competitive class, finishing with 197.5kg squat, 90kg bench, 202.5kg deadlift and 490kg total. All 4 results were new personal bests for Anna, plus her 202.5kg deadlift is a new British record!

Thanks also must go to our powerlifting coach Martin Bass, who traveled to Texas to help out with the GBR team.


2016 BGWLC Summer Weightlifting Competition

We are holding our 2016 Summer Weightlifting Competition on Saturday 4th June!

Weigh-in is from 9am – 10am, lifting starts at 10.45am.

The competition is being run according to BWL rules but is not an official sanctioned competition.

There will be medals for class winners and trophies for the best male and female lifters.

Entry is £12 – Sign up here (If you’re an existing BGWLC Member, you can also sign up via your subscription account.)

2015 Club Competitions

We are holding our 2015 Club Competitions on the weekend of 5/6 December!

5th December – Olympic weightlifting. Weigh-in 11am-12pm; lift off 1pm

6th December – powerlifting. Weigh-in 9.30-10am; lift off 11am

The competitions are being run according to BWL/GBPF rules but are not official sanctioned competitions. They are open to regular club members.

The victors win bragging rights and the title of Club Champion!

GBPF British Classics 2015 – full results

With all the results in from the GBPF British Classics, here are the results for the BGWLC lifters. Full results can be found on the GBPF site.

For photos and videos, please see our Facebook and Instagram pages.

Well done to all our lifters – here’s to an even better 2016!

Category Best
Total Place
Rachel Smith 52 75 37.5 107.5 220 6
Leah Grant 63 120 60 140 320 8
Laura Porter 72 102.5 55 125 282.5 16
Ellie Rahmani 84 110 52.5 142.5 305 7
Sylvia Osei-Tutu 84+ 115 80 155 350 7
Alan Joseph 83 190 122.5 247.5
560 15
Ivan Otim 93 185 115 265 565 25
Diego Martinez Rodney 93 230 142.5 265 637.5 9
Reece Smith 105 240 157.5 272.5 670 8
Kieran Stubbings 105 SJ 195 127.5 207.5 530 4
George Seeger 93 J 212.5 130 275 617.5 10

GBPF 4 Nations 2015 – results

The 4 Nations is an annual competition held by the GBPF featuring teams from Wales, Scotland, England and Northern Ireland. Each region selects 8 lifters from national competitions to compete for a trophy and the title of Best Home Nation.

This year, BGWLC had two lifters selected to compete for England – Thomas Celestin (105kg) and Fred Annan (93kg), based on their performances at the All-England. Each nation selects only 4 male and 4 female lifters in each of the equipped and unequipped categories, so this was a great honour for Fred and Thomas.

Thomas (second from left) and Fred (second from right), along with Reece and Martin from BGWLC. Photo by Tiffany Annan.

Thomas, Fred, Reece Smith and Martin Bass travelled to Ashington in Northumberland on Friday 23rd October for the competition on the 24th.

Full results are available on the GBPF website, and our lifters’ results are below:

Thomas Celestin – squat: 240kg; bench: 127.5; deadlift: 305kg; total: 672.5kg
Fred Annan – squat: 200kg; bench: 162.5kg; deadlift: 280kg; total: 642.5kg

Overall, the England team won, with a Wilks total of 5041.

Congratulations to Fred & Thomas, and all the lifters who took part!